Policy Advisory Board

organization banner

The OSI Policy Advisory Board acts in an advisory role to the OSI Board of Directors concerning adherence to the OSI mission and good governance principles. It acts further to influence policy-makers and decision-takers worldwide through informal diplomacy, facilitates fundraising efforts for OSI operations and projects and provides guidance and assistance to OSI Senior Policymakers.



Heherson Alvarez
Climate Change Commissioner, Office of the President of the Philippines

Mr. Owen Arthur
Former Prime Minister of Barbados (1994/2008)

Mr. Francois Baird
Founder, Baird's Renaissance and Co-Chairman Baird's CMC, South Africa, and USA; Chairman, Edelman, Africa

Ivonne A Baki
Former Minister of Foreign Trade, Industralization, Integration, Fisheries and Competitivness, Ecuador, Former President of Andean Parliament, Secretary of State for the Yasuni ITT National Initiative

Nancy Bakir
High Commissioner for Arab Civil Society of the League of Arab States, former Minister of Culture and Minister of Public Sector Reform of the Government of Jordan, former Assistant Secretary-General of the League of Arab States

Lic. Vinicio Cerezo
Former President of Guatemala, President of Esquipulas Foundation on Economic and Social Integration for Central America

Miguel Chissano
Chairman, Mozambique Maritime and Border Commission, Chairman Mozambique Inter-ministerial meetings on Ocean Affairs

José Ramos-Horta
Former President of East Timor, the Nobel Peace Prize Winner in 1996, United Nations' special Representative and Head of the United Nations Integrated Peacebuilding Office in Guinea-Bissau (UNIOGBIS)

Mr. Koichiro Matsuura
Former Deputy Foreign Minister of Japan, Former Director General of UNESCO for two terms from 1999 to 2009

Vice Admiral Nikolai Mikheev 
Former Deputy Commander in Chief of the Navy of the Russian Federation

Mr. Fernando Pena
President, MOF (Subic) Inc., Deputy Executive Director, Centrist Asia Pacific Democrats International (CDI)

Mr Pedro Pires 
Former Prime Minister (1975/1991), former President (2001/2011) of Cape Verde, Laureate  of the  2011 Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership

Vice Admiral Ashot Sarkisov
Member of the Academy of Sciences of the Russian Federation

Her Highness Sheikha Hissah Al Sabah
Royal Family Kuwait